Social Studies 8 (Ms. Gillespie)

 Unit Test – Early Middle Ages (Wed, Thurs Nov. 5 &6)

Thurs., Oct. 30

Viking Notes & Video

Thurs., Oct. 16

Fr. Emmanuel visited class / Map of UK and Ireland due Mon. Oct 20th/

Quiz – vocabulary Wed., Oct. 15 Early Middle Ages

Friday, Oct. 10
  • Studied terms/vocabulary
  • Notes on growth of religion “after the fall of Rome”
Monday, Oct. 6

New Unit: Early Middle Ages – Notes started/ Terms completed

Wednesday, Oct. 1
  • Review / Review Game
Tuesday, Sept. 30
  • Age of Exploration completed / Review package
Tuesday, Sept. 23
  • Exploration / Navigation – notes, questions
Monday, Sept. 15
  • Notes Map Skills continued
  • Practiced measuring and converting map scale
  • (homework (quest. 1 & 2 on sheet)
Friday, Sept. 12
  • Handed in Maps of Canada
  • Started Notes Map Skills
  • Current Events – Terry Fox (Quest. 1-5)
  • Please bring a ruler for Monday
Wed., Sept. 10th
  • Homework – Complete map of Israel and surrounding Countries for Thurs., Sept. 11th
  • Map of Canada – labeling (Due Friday, Sept. 13th)
 Welcome to Social Studies 8!
Sept. 3rd -5th
  •   textbook Pathways assigned to students
  •  introduction/ Course Outline *be sure to have your parent/guardian signatures sheet handed in
  • current events (Gaza Strip) – questions and Map- Isreal and Surrounding Countries
  • Homework: ave your map fully labeled by Wed.