Science 10 (Mrs. Durante)

Welcome to Science 10!                                                    Sept. 5, 2017

My name is Anne Durante and it is my great pleasure to be teaching Science 10 at St. John Brebeuf.  I am returning to SJB to teach Chemistry/Science after being away for 17 years while I raised my family and spent some time teaching at the elementary level.  In this course I hope to inform and inspire your children with an appreciation of the various branches of science and their impact upon our world.  I am attaching the course outline on this page, and I will be using this website for any updates or information you need to know. I look forward to getting to know you and your children! Please feel free to contact me at adurante@stjohnbrebeuf.ca or by calling the school.

Thursday, Oct. 19, 2017

Please remember to complete your test corrections and remember to write down what mistake you made and what your new understanding is beside each question you got wrong – including the multiple choice questions!

Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2017

Homework for tonight. Read pg. 51  1-4, Section review for Protein Synthesis, RNA, and Translating the Genetic Code.

Monday, Oct. 16, 2017

Homework for this evening – Read pgs. 44-45,  on the DNA molecule, Search for the Genetic code and The Structure of DNA.

Friday, Oct. 6, 2017

Study for the test on Wednesday!! The answer keys for the review sheets are posted here.

Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2017

Just a reminder of the assignment on atomic theory/atoms/molecules etc. that is due on Thursday, Sept. 14.

Friday, Sept. 15, 2017

I have hopefully succeeded in uploading the latest powerpoints onto the page here. The homework is to complete the rough draft of the analysis questions from our first lab.

 

Monday, Sept. 18, 2017

The homework for tomorrow is the good copy of the lab report, pg. 174-   1,2,12  and pg. 182 –  11, and the ionic bonding page.

Tuesday, Sept. 19, 2017

There will be a test this Friday on Chemistry. I am including a copy of the topics to be covered on this page.

Wednesday, Sept. 20, 2017

The homework tonight is pg. 191    1,2, 3 (a-f) on naming of ionic compounds.  Remember the test on Friday!!

Monday, Sept. 25, 2017

Today’s homework is to complete pg. 193    13, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22.  Please write neatly as I am collecting these.

Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2017

Today’s homework is pg. 209  4,6,8.  Please remember to bring in your household substances for the lab on Friday!!

Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017

The homework for tonight is pg. 214, 3 (Lewis diagrams only) and 4.  Please remember substances to bring in for tomorrow’s lab!

Friday, Sept. 29, 2017

There is no homework this weekend, but remember to bring in everything you need to work on your lab write up on Monday! Have a great weekend.

Monday, Oct. 2, 2017

Lab report write -up due tomorrow.

Tuesday, Oct. 3, 2017

Tonight’s homework is from the textbook pg. 234  2,3,8 a,b, 9 and pg. 238  3,4. There will be a test on Friday.  I will hand out and post a list of the topics on the test tomorrow.

Wednesday, Oct. 4, 2017

Tonight’s homework is from the textbook pg. 238   6 a,c,f,g and 7 a,c.  We will go over the topics on Friday’s test tomorrow in class.

The new entries will now be at top!!