English 8 (Ms. Gillespie)

Welcome to English 8 and to SJB!

Homework – Please read each night for 20 minutes.

Wed., Oct. 25 – Introduction – The Outsiders  by S. E. Hinton

Tues., Oct. 24 – Independent Novel Assignment

Fri., Oct. 20 – Mon., Oct. 23 – ProD – no classes

Thurs., Oct. 19 – Reading Comprehension (this one counts) / Finish second drafts of hero paragraphs

Wed., Oct. 18 – Edit/Revise first drafts / Write a second draft – hero paragraphs

Tues., Oct. 17 – Write first draft (My Hero)

Mon., Oct. 16 – Plan multi-paragraphs (My Hero) / Go over reading comprehension (“Miniatures”)

Due Date: Hero Square – Mon., Oct. 16

Fri., Oct. 13 – Reading Comprehension / Hero Square – due Monday

Thurs., Oct. 12 – Questions for “A Mason Dixon Memory” pg. 339 #1 b and c / Hero Square

Wed., Oct. 11 – Instructions for Hero Square and Paragraph Assignment / Read “Mason Dixon Line” in text

Tues., Oct. 10 – Edit and second draft of “The Parsley Garden” paragraph

  • Quiz on Story Elements (notes) – Fri., Oct. 

Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

Independent Novel – Keep a novel at school to read at the start of each class.  Choose something engaging for yourself so you are not bored!

Fri., Oct. 6 – Quiz – Story Elements / Introduction to Hero Assignment (multi-paragraph response and square)

Thursday – Reading Comprehension  (this one counts) /Review game for quiz

Wed., Oct. 4 – Go over story elements from yesterday/ Paragraph writing / Write a paragraph responding to an aspect of  “The Parsley Garden”

Tues., Oct. 3 – Story Elements for “The Parsley Garden” in groups  

Mon., Oct. 2 – Read “The Parsley Garden” / Written response to short story / Quiz on Story Elements Fri., Oct. 6

Fri., Sept. 29 – Notes – Story Elements / Read Tribute to Joe DiMaggio / Discuss questions

Thurs., Sept. 28 – Notes – Story Elements / Mini presentations

Wed., Sept. 27 – Notes – Story Elements / Reading Comprehension Two – mark and discuss

Tues., Sept. 26 – Movie – “The Princess Bride” / Elements of a fairy tale

Mon., Sept. 25 – Movie – “The Princess Bride” / Elements of a fairy tale

Fri., Sept. 22 – Reading Comprehension #2 /Write paragraph 1c “A Hero’s Welcome” / Terry Fox Run

Thurs., Sept. 21 – Feedback for mini-paragraph responses / Write response to “A Hero’s Welcome / Read fables and legends / Notes on Story Elements

Wed., Sept. 20 – Read “A Hero’s Welcome” and discussion / Read fables and legends

Tues., Sept. 19 – Read “A Hero’s Welcome” / Finish fables and legends

Mon., Sept. 18 – Mark and discuss Reading Comprehension / Elements of a fairy tale / Share fables and legends

Fri., Sept. 15 – Reading Comprehension

Thurs., Sept. 14 – Discuss Questions – “Transformations of Cindy R.”

  • Elements in a fairy tale
  • Read “Feathers in the Wind” and discuss
  • Written answers – in class

Wed., Sept. 13 – Read “Transformations of Cindy R”

  • Please have your parents sign the Course Outline and return to me by Wednesday, September 13, 2017.
  • Find an interesting independent novel by Friday, Sept. 15.

Sept. 11 & 12No class – Grade 8 Camp

Sept. 5 – 8 – Introduction – 

  • Course Outline
  • mini games – get to know each other
  • Library orientation and novel sign out

 

English 8 will provide you with opportunities to read, discuss, write, and create.  Our first unit is Short Stories and Self Reflection.  You may want to keep another divider in your binder for writing exercises and grammar, which we will work on periodically throughout the semester.  I am looking forward to getting to know each of you this semester.  Happy Reading!